About The Toyota 86 Racing Series

Jake Klein - Toyota 86 Racing Series - Phillip Island

The Toyota 86 Series commenced in 2016, with a successful 5 round championship run alongside the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship as sanctioned by the Confederation of Australian Motor Sport (CAMS).

Like similar one–make series, the Toyota 86 Racing Series demands competitors adhere to a strict set of controlled components and car setup, ensuring that driver talent, rather than team budget, is key to winning.

The Toyota 86 itself is a front engine, rear wheel drive car is ideally suited to close racing due to its superb handling, with maximum speeds down Mt Panorama’s Conrod Straight of around 230km per hour.

In 2016 Toyota 86 Series saw capacity grids with minimum 32 cars competing at each round. Three of which featured a rotating roster of professional racers, including Steven Johnson, Glenn Seton, Dean Canto and Cam McConville, to allow upcoming drivers to gauge their ability.

The series receives fantastic coverage as part of Virgin Australia Supercars program, with an average TV audience of over a million across Foxtel and Channel 10 each round. While the average crowd attendance for 86 rounds in 2016 was over 100,000 per round, with marque events like the Bathurst 1000 on the program.

2017 Schedule

  • Round 1: Phillip Island – April 21-23
  • Round 2: Townsville 400 – July 7-9
  • Round d 3: Sydney Motorsport Park – August 18-20
  • Round 4: Bathurst 1000 – Mt Panorama – October 5-8
  • Round 5: Newcastle500 – November 24-26